Polish name for tapestry is “arras”, the word came from the city Arras in northern France, which was famous for its weaving workshops. The Wawel castle tapestry collection counted 360 pieces. They were used as a decoration in royal apartments starting from the XVI century.  First tapestries were brought by queen Bona, but more significant contribution into the new collection made her husband king Sigismund I the Old. During his life he ordered tapestries in Antwerp several times and his private collection counted 108 pieces. Following rulers were completing the collection. Their orders were well considered, they were requiring the specific stories that were supposed to be pictured, as well as the exact sizes of the tapestries adjusted to the walls in the palace where they were supposed to hang. The measurements of some tapestries were reaching even 5 x 9 metres. There are three main topics of the pictures in Wawel collection: Bible, landscapes and animals, grotesque scenes and royal coats of arms.

During the last 450 years the tapestries were changing their owners several times, mostly because of the local political conflicts, wars and occupants. For the last time tapestries left Poland in 1939. To save the collection they were evacuated to Canada and were brought back to Poland in 1961.

At this moment there are 136 pieces in the collection of Wawel Castle Museum. To prevent their damage only few dozens of tapestries are exposed at the same time. Fortunately the exhibition is changed quite often.

Wawel Castle Museum on a map

Suggested
Suggested contents and articles.
Suggested Contents
Art Galleries in Krakow
In a city so steeped with artistic spirit, it is hardly surprising that many interesting art galleries can be found in Krakow. With such great schools as Jagiellonian University and Academy of Fine Arts, Krakow has produced many prolific artists and art critics. The artistic community enjoys a wide range
Historical Museum of Krakow
Historical Museum of Krakow is a municipal institution focused on cultivating local traditions and sharing knowledge of Krakow’s history. The Museum consists of several branches, scattered around the city. Its origins date back to 1899, as a division of the Old Records Office of Krakow. Employees of the Office gathered memorabilia
Wawel Castle Museum
The historic royal residence on the Wawel Hill was turned into the national museum after World War II in 1945. Since the Castle was devastated after the 19th-century occupations and two World Wars, it had been being reconstructed for many years. It has now returned to its original splendour. There are
Comments
All comments.
Comments